- What Is Actually Published About the PH Pass Rate
- The Numbers AIH Does Publish
- Why Pass Rate Is Really a Two-Exam Question
- Where Candidates Likely Lose Points
- Format Details That Shape Results
- The Eligibility Screen Before Anyone Sits
- The Cost of a Missed Attempt
- Turning Domain Weights Into a Schedule
- Frequently Asked Questions
- AIH does not publish an overall Professional Hydrologist pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The passing minimum is 70% on each exam; the ordinary path involves two separate exams, Fundamentals plus one specialty.
- Three failures bar further AIH applications, which makes the retake ceiling more important than any average pass figure.
- Surface Water weights interpretation/modeling at 46%; Groundwater weights collection/inventory at 51%. Study the specialty you chose, not both.
What Is Actually Published About the PH Pass Rate
Candidates searching for a Professional Hydrologist pass rate usually want a single reassuring or alarming number. Here is the honest answer: the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH) does not disclose an overall PH pass rate, and it also does not disclose how the examinations split scored from unscored questions. No percentage appears on its examination page, its requirements page, or its candidate-facing materials that we have verified.
That matters because a lot of exam-prep content on the web fills the vacuum with invented figures, or worse, borrows pass statistics from an unrelated credential that happens to share the "PH" abbreviation. This article is about the AIH Professional Hydrologist credential only. If you have seen a pass rate attributed to "PH" elsewhere, treat it as unrelated unless it cites AIH directly.
If you want a qualitative read on difficulty, our complete PH difficulty guide walks through what the format demands without leaning on fabricated statistics.
The Numbers AIH Does Publish
While the pass rate is undisclosed, several hard numbers shape your odds. These come from the AIH examinations page and requirements pages.
| Item | Published detail |
|---|---|
| Passing minimum | 70% per exam |
| Fundamentals (Part I) | Approximately 100 questions, approximately four hours |
| Specialty (Part II) | Approximately 100 questions, approximately four hours (Surface Water or Groundwater) |
| Ordinary-path total | Approximately 200 questions / eight hours across two separate exams |
| Retake ceiling | Three failures bar further AIH applications |
| Question style | Part I is explicitly multiple choice; practice and development materials also use multiple choice |
| Overall pass rate | Not disclosed |
| Scored/unscored split | Not disclosed |
For a deeper treatment of the cutoff itself, see our PH passing score breakdown. The key point for pass-rate thinking: a 70% minimum on each exam means a strong Fundamentals result cannot compensate for a weak specialty result, and vice versa.
Why Pass Rate Is Really a Two-Exam Question
On the ordinary documented path, a Professional Hydrologist candidate sits the common Part I Fundamentals exam and then one applicable Part II specialty. These are separate examinations, not one eight-hour sitting. Any "pass rate" you might eventually see would need to specify which exam it describes, because the two exams test different material and attract different candidate pools.
There is also a group for whom the structure differs. Holders of a valid Hydrologic Technician (HIT) credential do not repeat Part I. For them, the path to PH centers on the Part II specialty alone. That makes the Fundamentals exam a shared gateway, and it means a combined statistic would blend first-time Fundamentals takers with specialty-only candidates, which is another reason a single headline figure would be misleading.
The Part I Fundamentals content
The Fundamentals exam draws on four headings, with published allocations that are approximate question counts rather than printed percentages:
Domain 1: Water Quantity and Quality in the Field (approx. 20 questions)
Field-level measurement and observation of both quantity and quality conditions.
Domain 2: Quantity and Timing of Flow (approx. 45 questions)
The heaviest Part I heading. Expect flow magnitude, timing, and the hydrologic reasoning behind them to dominate your Fundamentals preparation.
Domain 3: Assessing Water Quality Conditions, Impacts and Sources (approx. 30 questions)
Evaluating water quality conditions and tracing impacts and sources.
Domain 4: Statistical Analyses (approx. 5 questions)
A small share of the exam, but statistical fluency also supports the flow and quality questions that surround it.
Our complete domains guide covers how these headings fit together with the specialty components.
Where Candidates Likely Lose Points
Without published item-level statistics, we cannot say which domain has the lowest pass rate. What we can say is where the weighting concentrates risk, since a 70% minimum is easiest to miss where the most questions live.
Part I: the 45-question flow block
With roughly 45 of about 100 Fundamentals questions tied to Quantity and Timing of Flow, a candidate who treats this as one topic among four is mispricing the exam. A weak showing here is hard to offset with the 5-question statistics block, however well you do on it.
Part II: pick your lane, then go deep
Each specialty carries its own weighting, and the two sets of weights are separate. Never add them together; you sit one specialty, not both.
| Component | Collection and Inventory | Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling | Design Hydrological Systems |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surface Water (Domains 5-7) | 31% | 46% | 23% |
| Groundwater (Domains 8-10) | 51% | 38% | 11% |
The practical consequence is that the two specialties reward different preparation. Surface Water leans toward interpretation, analysis and modeling of hydrological processes at 46%. Groundwater leans toward collection and inventory of basic hydrological data at 51%, with design contributing only 11%. A Groundwater candidate who spends a third of their time on design is investing heavily in the lightest section.
Format Details That Shape Results
Several delivery details influence how a candidate performs, and some remain unresolved in the published material.
- Delivery: AIH administers virtual proctoring. No commercial testing vendor is verified, and Certemy serves as the application platform.
- Language and aids: English; the exam is open book/references/notes and allows calculators.
- Digital references: A prohibition on reference computers sits alongside virtual delivery, and the operational meaning is unresolved. Do not assume you may consult digital references; confirm with AIH.
- Timing inconsistency: The four-hour Fundamentals specification conflicts with the December 11, 2026 event listing, which shows 9 a.m. to noon. Verify your own sitting's length in your confirmation materials.
Open-book access changes what "difficulty" means. You are not being tested on recall of constants so much as on knowing where to find the right relationship quickly and applying it correctly under time pressure. A candidate who arrives with organized notes and practiced lookups generally has an edge over one who arrives with a thick, unindexed pile. For a quick reference to carry into your sitting, see our one-page PH cheat sheet.
The Eligibility Screen Before Anyone Sits
Any pass figure would reflect a pre-screened group. To reach the exam, candidates must already meet education and experience requirements under the January 30, 2026 AIH bylaws (Sections 3.2 and 3.4):
- Relevant bachelor's, master's, or doctoral education, paired with five, four, or three years of qualifying post-degree hydrology experience respectively.
- Three referees.
- Coursework of five semester (or eight quarter) hours each in chemistry, physics and calculus.
- Three semester (or five quarter) hours in basic surface-water or groundwater hydrology.
- 25 semester (or 40 quarter) specialty hours, including at least 10 semester (or 16 quarter) Category I hours, with the remainder Category I or II.
The Approved Coursework List (updated September 14, 2026) supplies eligibility course examples; it is not a map of exam domains. No fixed exam-preparation training hours or current discretionary waiver thresholds are verified, so do not presume a waiver. The 2026 bylaws control over the older 2024 document that remains linked. Our PH requirements guide covers the full eligibility pathway.
The takeaway: because candidates arrive with degrees, years of field or analytical experience, and referee endorsement, the population sitting the exam is experienced. That is a reason not to assume a published pass rate, if one ever appears, applies to you in either direction.
The Cost of a Missed Attempt
The retake ceiling and the fee schedule together define your real risk. Standard fees are $100 for the application, $200 for Part I, and $200 for Part II, for a calculated initial total of $500 before dues. Annual PH dues are $175 (prorated in the first year), and five-year recertification is $65. The dollar figures are not explicitly labeled USD, and no general member versus non-member exam fee pair is published; organizational-affiliate discounts are conditional.
Because three failures bar further AIH applications, a failed attempt is not just a fee; it consumes one of a finite number of chances. That is the strongest argument for treating readiness as the gating factor rather than scheduling pressure. See our PH certification cost breakdown for the full pricing picture, and our ROI analysis if you are weighing whether the credential justifies the spend.
Maintaining the credential also carries ongoing obligations. The requirements page asks for at least 12 PDH/PDC annually with documentation each December 31, while the continuing-education guidance describes 60 over five years with submission by December 31 of year five. These administration descriptions conflict, and the five-year guidance should not be treated as a waiver of the stated annual requirement.
Turning Domain Weights Into a Schedule
Since no pass rate exists to calibrate against, let the published weights guide your time. This is the one place generic scheduling logic is worth applying, and only because it ties directly to the PH blueprint. A sample Surface Water path for the ordinary two-exam route:
Fundamentals: flow first
- Prioritize Domain 2, Quantity and Timing of Flow (about 45 questions)
- Cover field measurement in Domain 1
Fundamentals: quality and statistics
- Work Domain 3 on quality conditions, impacts and sources
- Review Domain 4 statistics to support the other domains
Specialty: weight-driven
- Surface Water: spend the most time on Domain 6 modeling (46%)
- Groundwater: lead with Domain 8 collection and inventory (51%)
Adjust for your own background; a candidate with strong field experience may compress collection topics and expand modeling. For a fuller preparation framework, our PH study guide expands on pacing and resources, and you can test your retention against the format on the PH Exam Prep practice test site.
Key Takeaway
Do not anchor on a pass percentage that does not exist. Anchor on the 70% per-exam minimum, the three-failure ceiling, and the specialty weights. Practice under timed conditions on the practice test so that open-book lookups become fast and reliable.
Frequently Asked Questions
AIH does not publish an overall pass rate for the Professional Hydrologist credential, and it does not disclose the scored versus unscored question split. Any specific percentage you encounter should be treated as unverified unless it cites AIH directly.
The passing minimum is 70% on each exam. On the ordinary path, that applies separately to Fundamentals and to your chosen specialty. See the passing score guide for detail.
According to the AIH examination page, three failures bar further AIH applications. Because of this ceiling, readiness matters more than speed when scheduling an attempt.
Holders of a valid Hydrologic Technician credential do not repeat Part I Fundamentals. Their path centers on one applicable Part II specialty. The roughly 200 question, eight hour total describes the ordinary path, not an added requirement for active HIT holders.
The AIH examinations page carries the current 2026 schedule and objectives, though it shows no dated blueprint revision. Our exam dates guide summarizes scheduling mechanics, and our overview of the credential explains what the certification represents.