- What the Professional Hydrologist Credential Is
- Not a State License, Not the HIT
- Who Qualifies: Education, Experience and Coursework
- How the Two-Part Examination Works
- Part I Fundamentals: Four Headings
- Part II Specialties: Surface Water and Groundwater
- Where Water Quality Fits
- Fees, Dues and Recertification
- Exam-Day Rules and Unresolved Details
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- PH means Professional Hydrologist, a credential from the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH), not a government license.
- The ordinary path is Part I Fundamentals plus one Part II specialty, each passed at a 70% minimum.
- Surface Water and Groundwater weight their three categories separately; never add them together.
- Initial cost is $500 for application plus two exams, before $175 annual dues.
What the Professional Hydrologist Credential Is
The Professional Hydrologist credential, abbreviated PH or P.H., is a professional certification awarded by the American Institute of Hydrology. It signals that a practicing hydrologist has met defined standards of education, qualifying experience, referee endorsement and examination performance. If you are searching for what PH certification means in this field, the short answer is: it is AIH's recognition of a mature hydrology practitioner.
The acronym is shared by several unrelated credentials in other industries. This article, and everything on this page, concerns only the hydrology credential. If you want the plain-language definition first, our explainers What Is PH? and What Does PH Stand For? cover the naming question, while this guide focuses on how the credential actually works.
Not a State License, Not the HIT
Two clarifications prevent most of the confusion candidates bring to this credential.
It is a certification, not a license
The PH is not a state-issued license. AIH is a professional body, and the credential is granted by that organization rather than by a licensing board. That distinction matters when you describe your qualifications on a résumé or proposal: you hold a professional certification from AIH, you do not hold a government license to practice.
It is not the Hydrologic Technician or HIT credential
AIH also offers a Hydrologist in Training or Hydrologic Technician credential, referred to here as HIT. The HIT is the earlier-career track. The Professional Hydrologist is the full professional credential. The two connect in one useful way: a valid HIT holder does not repeat Part I Fundamentals when pursuing the PH, because the common Fundamentals component has already been passed.
Who Qualifies: Education, Experience and Coursework
Eligibility is governed by the Bylaws of the American Institute of Hydrology, approved January 30, 2026, Sections 3.2 and 3.4. The 2026 bylaws control over the older 2024 document that may still be linked from the site. For a deeper walk-through, see PH Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
| Highest Relevant Degree | Qualifying Post-Degree Hydrology Experience |
|---|---|
| Bachelor's | Five years |
| Master's | Four years |
| Doctoral | Three years |
Applicants also need three referees, and the coursework thresholds are specific:
- Five semester hours or eight quarter hours each in chemistry, physics and calculus.
- Three semester hours or five quarter hours in basic surface-water or groundwater hydrology.
- Twenty-five semester hours or 40 quarter hours in the specialty, including at least 10 semester or 16 quarter hours of Category I coursework, with the remainder drawn from Category I or Category II.
AIH publishes an Approved Coursework List, most recently updated September 14, 2026. Treat it as a reference for which courses count toward eligibility. It is not an outline of what appears on the exam.
How the Two-Part Examination Works
The ordinary documented path is two separate examinations, not one long sitting:
- Part I, Fundamentals, common to all candidates.
- Part II, one applicable specialty, currently Surface Water or Groundwater for which detailed objectives are published.
Published specifications describe each part as approximately 100 questions over four hours, which totals roughly 200 questions and eight hours across the two exams. Part II detail states 100 questions, while introductory language is approximate, so treat the counts as approximate until you read the current examination page at aihydrology.org/examinations.
| Element | What Is Documented |
|---|---|
| Passing minimum | 70% per exam |
| Attempts | Three failures bar further AIH applications, according to the examination page |
| Format | Part I is explicitly multiple choice; practice and development materials also use multiple choice |
| Language | English |
| Delivery | AIH administers virtual proctoring |
| Overall pass rate | Not disclosed |
| Scored versus unscored split | Not disclosed |
Because the overall pass rate is undisclosed, any number you see quoted for it should be treated skeptically. Our PH Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows article explains what can and cannot be said, and PH Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass details the 70% standard. For difficulty context, read How Hard Is the PH Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
Part I Fundamentals: Four Headings
Part I covers four headings. AIH's published allocations of 20/45/30/5 are approximate question counts, not printed percentages, so do not present them as official percentage weights. The headings are:
Domain 1: Water Quantity and Quality in the Field
Field-oriented knowledge of how water is observed and measured, covering both how much water is present and its condition.
- Field measurement of quantity and quality
- Practical observation of hydrologic conditions
Domain 2: Quantity and Timing of Flow
Questions about how much water moves and when, the backbone of hydrologic reasoning.
- Flow magnitude and timing
- Interpretation of flow behavior
Domain 3: Assessing Water Quality Conditions, Impacts and Sources
Evaluating the state of water quality, what affects it and where contamination originates.
- Conditions, impacts and source identification
Domain 4: Statistical Analyses
The quantitative toolkit for handling hydrologic data.
- Statistical treatment of hydrologic datasets
These are examination objectives, not a preparation curriculum. They tell you what the test samples, not how to learn it. For a topic-by-topic map, see PH Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.
Part II Specialties: Surface Water and Groundwater
After Fundamentals, a candidate sits one specialty. The two with published category weights share the same three category names but differ sharply in emphasis. Each specialty's weights total 100% on their own, and you take only one, so never add percentages across the two.
| Category | Surface Water | Groundwater |
|---|---|---|
| Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data | 31% | 51% |
| Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes | 46% | 38% |
| Design Hydrological Systems | 23% | 11% |
Surface Water (Domains 5 to 7)
Domain 5: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (31%)
Gathering and cataloging the foundational data that every later analysis depends on.
Domain 6: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (46%)
The largest Surface Water category. Expect the heaviest concentration of questions here, so candidates should be comfortable turning data into defensible hydrologic conclusions and models.
Domain 7: Design Hydrological Systems (23%)
Applying hydrologic understanding to the design of systems.
Groundwater (Domains 8 to 10)
Domain 8: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (51%)
The largest Groundwater category and the most distinctive difference from Surface Water. Data collection and inventory dominate this specialty.
Domain 9: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (38%)
Analysis and modeling carry substantial weight, though less than in Surface Water.
Domain 10: Design Hydrological Systems (11%)
The smallest category in either specialty.
Where Water Quality Fits
AIH's current requirements and bylaws recognize Water Quality as a specialty. However, a current standalone Water Quality exam outline or issuer preparation curriculum has not been verified, so this article does not assign it a timer, weights or an exhaustive topic list.
Historical context exists. An AIH examination-development page, which describes work with 2023 deadlines, lists these question-bank categories for Water Quality: Wastewater; Environmental; Monitoring and Measuring; Limnology; Aquatic chemistry; Microbiology; Soils and sediment; Source pollution and control/treatment; Pollutant fate and transport; and Peripheral Topics. Treat that list as historical development material only. It is not a verified current set of exam objectives, and the 300-question banks mentioned there are development inventories, not exam lengths. If Water Quality is your intended path, contact AIH for current specifications before you commit study time.
Fees, Dues and Recertification
Standard published fees are:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $100 |
| Part I exam | $200 |
| Part II exam | $200 |
| Calculated initial total (application plus two exams) | $500, before dues |
| Annual PH dues | $175, prorated in the first year |
| Five-year recertification | $65 |
A few caveats keep this honest. The pages do not explicitly label the currency as USD. No general member versus non-member exam fee pair is published, and organizational-affiliate discounts are conditional. A separate September through December 2026 offer for qualified students and early-career candidates waives upfront application and exam fees for Fundamentals, with $150 payable only after passing and accepting the HIT. That is not a free PH and not a Part II discount. For the full breakdown, see PH Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Staying certified
Five-year recertification is required alongside annual dues. Continuing-development rules show a documented conflict between two AIH pages. The requirements page calls for at least 12 PDH/PDC annually with documentation each December 31. The continuing-education guidance page describes 60 over five years with submission by December 31 of year five. Do not treat the five-year guidance as a waiver of the stated annual requirement; follow the stricter reading unless AIH confirms otherwise.
Key Takeaway
Budget for the $500 initial total plus first-year dues, and plan your continuing-development documentation around the annual December 31 requirement, not the five-year convenience reading.
Exam-Day Rules and Unresolved Details
The examinations are open book. Published conditions allow references, notes and calculators, and AIH administers virtual proctoring. Applications run through the Certemy platform, and no commercial testing vendor is verified.
Several operational points remain unresolved in the published materials:
- A prohibition on reference computers appears alongside virtual delivery, so permission to use digital references should not be inferred. Ask AIH before exam day.
- The four-hour Fundamentals specification conflicts with the December 11, 2026 event listing, which shows 9 a.m. to noon. Verify the actual time window on your registration.
- The question-format description of four choices with one correct answer comes from development materials and does not establish an invariant current format.
For scheduling specifics, check PH Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling, and always confirm against the current examinations page at aihydrology.org/examinations.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the specialty weights differ so much, your study order should follow your chosen path rather than a generic template. One sensible arrangement for an open-book exam, where speed of finding and applying material matters:
Fundamentals foundations
- Drill Domain 4, Statistical Analyses, early because it supports every later analysis.
- Work flow magnitude and timing problems for Domain 2.
Field and quality material
- Review Domain 1 field measurement and Domain 3 quality conditions, impacts and sources.
Specialty emphasis
- Surface Water candidates: spend the most time on Domain 6 modeling and analysis (46%).
- Groundwater candidates: prioritize Domain 8 collection and inventory (51%).
Organize your permitted references so you can locate formulas and procedures quickly. For a fuller plan, see the PH Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt and the one-page PH Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. To rehearse under realistic conditions, try the PH practice tests on the main site.
Frequently Asked Questions
It means the Professional Hydrologist credential from the American Institute of Hydrology. It is a professional certification based on education, qualifying experience, referees and examinations, not a state license. See PH Certification for more background.
On the ordinary documented path, two separate exams: Part I Fundamentals and one Part II specialty, each about 100 questions and four hours, passed at a 70% minimum. Active HIT holders do not repeat Part I.
The calculated initial total is $500 for the $100 application plus two $200 exams, before dues. Annual PH dues are $175, prorated in the first year, and five-year recertification is $65.
That depends on your career path, employer expectations and specialty. Our ROI analysis and salary guide discuss the tradeoffs, and PH Jobs covers the kinds of roles where the credential carries weight.
According to the AIH examination page, three failures bar further AIH applications. Treat each attempt seriously and prepare against the published objectives before registering.