PH logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

PH Meaning

TL;DR
  • PH here means Professional Hydrologist, issued by the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH), not a state license.
  • The ordinary path is Part I Fundamentals plus one Part II specialty, each with a 70% minimum.
  • Surface Water Part II is weighted 31/46/23; Groundwater Part II is weighted 51/38/11.
  • Standard published costs total $500 for application plus two exams, before dues.

What "PH" Means in This Article

The letters "PH" are shared by several unrelated credentials and terms. On this page, PH means Professional Hydrologist, a professional designation (written PH or P.H.) offered through the American Institute of Hydrology. If you arrived looking for some other meaning of the abbreviation, this is not that article. Everything below concerns the hydrology credential and its examinations.

If you want a broader orientation before going deeper, the companion pages What Is PH? and What Does PH Stand For? cover the same ground from different angles, while PH Certification looks at the credential as a career asset.

Who Issues the Credential and What It Is Not

The American Institute of Hydrology administers the Professional Hydrologist designation. Three clarifications prevent common confusion:

  • It is not a state license. The PH is a professional certification credential, not a governmental authorization to practice.
  • It is not the HIT. The Hydrologist in Training (HIT, also called the Hydrologic Technician credential in some AIH materials) is a separate, earlier-stage credential. A valid HIT holder is exempt from repeating Part I Fundamentals when pursuing the PH.
  • It is not a generic water-chemistry certificate. It is an examination-and-experience credential tied to documented hydrology work.
Identity check: Whenever you read exam fees, dates or pass-rate claims online, confirm the source is describing the American Institute of Hydrology's Professional Hydrologist credential. Other "PH" credentials have entirely different bodies, fees and exam structures, and mixing them up is one of the most common research mistakes.

Part I Fundamentals Plus One Part II Specialty

On the ordinary documented path, a Professional Hydrologist candidate sits two separate examinations, not one long sitting:

  1. Part I, Fundamentals: common to all candidates (unless exempted by a valid HIT).
  2. One applicable Part II specialty: for example Surface Water or Groundwater.

Published practice specifications describe each part as approximately 100 questions over four hours, so the ordinary path totals roughly 200 questions and eight hours of testing across two exams. That total is not an additional burden for active HIT holders, who skip Part I.

ComponentWho sits itApproximate size
Part I, FundamentalsOrdinary candidates; not repeated by valid HIT holdersAbout 100 questions, four hours
Part II, Surface WaterCandidates choosing this specialtyAbout 100 questions, four hours
Part II, GroundwaterCandidates choosing this specialtyAbout 100 questions, four hours
Part II, Water QualityRecognized in requirements and bylaws; current outline not verifiedNot stated here

Note that Part II detail pages say 100 questions while the introductory text uses "approximate" language, so treat the figures as approximate rather than guaranteed. For a deeper look at how the two components interact, see PH Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.

The Ten Domain Headings, Explained

A subtle but important point: the "ten domains" are ten supported headings counted across components and alternatives. They are not ten domains you face in a single exam. Part I carries four headings; each Part II specialty carries three. You will only encounter Part I plus one specialty's headings.

Part I Fundamentals headings

Part I uses published allocations of approximately 20/45/30/5 questions across its four headings. These are approximate question counts, not printed percentages, so do not convert them to percentages in your planning.

Domain 1: Water Quantity and Quality in the Field

The field-facing foundation: how water amount and condition are observed and measured in real settings.

  • Approximate allocation: about 20 questions
  • Think measurement practice, instrumentation logic and field data reliability

Domain 2: Quantity and Timing of Flow

The heaviest Part I heading by published allocation, at roughly 45 questions.

  • Covers how much water moves and when
  • Expect hydrologic reasoning about flow behavior, not just definitions

Domain 3: Assessing Water Quality Conditions, Impacts and Sources

Roughly 30 questions on evaluating conditions, understanding impacts and tracing sources.

  • Applies even to candidates headed for non-quality specialties

Domain 4: Statistical Analyses

The smallest heading at roughly 5 questions, but statistical thinking underpins much of the interpretation work elsewhere.

Part II Surface Water headings (31% / 46% / 23%)

  • Domain 5: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (31%)
  • Domain 6: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (46%), the largest Surface Water category
  • Domain 7: Design Hydrological Systems (23%)

Part II Groundwater headings (51% / 38% / 11%)

  • Domain 8: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (51%), the largest Groundwater category
  • Domain 9: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (38%)
  • Domain 10: Design Hydrological Systems (11%)
Never sum across alternatives: Each specialty's weights total 100% on their own. Surface Water's 31+46+23 and Groundwater's 51+38+11 are two separate exams' breakdowns. You choose one; you do not add them together. Also remember these are examination objectives, not a preparation curriculum.

The contrast is instructive. Surface Water rewards strength in interpretation and modeling, while Groundwater rewards command of data collection and inventory, with design a comparatively minor share. Choose your specialty with that emphasis in mind, and see the full breakdown in our domain guide.

Format, Passing Score and Delivery Mechanics

Question style

Part I is explicitly multiple choice. Practice examples and development materials also use multiple choice. The scored versus unscored question split and the overall PH pass rate are not disclosed, so be skeptical of any site quoting a precise pass percentage. For what can honestly be said, see PH Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.

Passing standard

The minimum is 70% per exam. Because Part I and Part II are scored separately, passing one does not rescue the other. The examination page also states that three failures bar further AIH applications, which makes readiness before sitting far more important than treating an attempt as practice. More on this in PH Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Language, references and delivery

  • Exams are in English.
  • The format is open book, with references, notes and calculators permitted.
  • AIH administers virtual proctoring; no commercial testing vendor is verified.
  • Certemy is the application platform.
Unresolved operational detail: The published rules prohibit a reference computer while the delivery is virtual, and this tension is not clearly settled in the sources. Do not assume you may use digital references on screen. Confirm directly with AIH, and prepare printed or handwritten reference material accordingly.

There is also a schedule inconsistency worth knowing: the four-hour Fundamentals specification conflicts with the December 11, 2026 event listing of 9 a.m. to noon. Verify the actual time block when you register. Scheduling specifics are covered in PH Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Eligibility: Education, Experience and Coursework

Current eligibility follows the AIH bylaws approved January 30, 2026 (Sections 3.2 and 3.4). The homepage-linked 2026 bylaws control over the older 2024 document that may still be linked elsewhere.

Highest relevant degreeQualifying post-degree hydrology experience
Bachelor'sFive years
Master'sFour years
DoctorateThree years

Candidates also need three referees. The coursework requirements are specific:

  • Five semester (or eight quarter) hours each in chemistry, physics and calculus.
  • Three semester (or five quarter) hours in basic surface-water or groundwater hydrology.
  • Twenty-five semester (or 40 quarter) specialty hours, including at least 10 semester (16 quarter) Category I hours, with the remainder Category I or II.

AIH's Approved Coursework List, updated September 14, 2026, supplies examples for judging whether your courses count. It describes eligibility courses, not exam content. No fixed exam-preparation training hours or current discretionary waiver thresholds are verified, so do not assume waivers apply. The full picture is in PH Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

Fees and Ongoing Costs

The standard published fee structure is:

  • $100 application fee
  • $200 for Part I
  • $200 for Part II
  • Calculated initial total: $500 (application plus two exams), before dues
  • $175 annual PH dues, prorated in the first year
  • $65 for five-year recertification

Some caveats matter. The dollar amounts are not explicitly labeled USD in the sources, no general member versus non-member exam fee pair is published, and organizational-affiliate discounts are conditional rather than universal. A qualified student or early-career Fundamentals offer runs September through December 2026, waiving upfront application and exam fees, with $150 payable only after passing and accepting HIT. That is not a free PH and not a Part II discount.

Maintaining the credential also involves continuing development. The requirements page asks for at least 12 PDH/PDC annually with documentation each December 31, while separate guidance describes 60 over five years with submission by December 31 of year five. These administrative statements conflict, and the five-year guidance should not be treated as waiving the annual requirement. Plan for the stricter reading and confirm with AIH. For the full financial picture, read PH Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

The Water Quality Specialty: What Is and Is Not Verified

Current requirements and bylaws recognize Water Quality as a specialty, but a current standalone Water Quality exam outline or issuer preparation curriculum has not been verified. For that reason, this article lists no Water Quality domain weights, timer or coverage claim.

Historical context exists: an AIH examination-development page (with 2023 deadlines) lists Water Quality question-bank categories such as wastewater, environmental, monitoring and measuring, limnology, aquatic chemistry, microbiology, soils and sediment, source pollution and control/treatment, pollutant fate and transport, and peripheral topics. Treat these strictly as historical development categories, not current exam objectives. The mention of 300-question specialty banks refers to development inventories, not exam length, and a four-choice, one-correct-answer description does not establish an unchanging current format.

Key Takeaway

If you are considering Water Quality, contact AIH for the current exam outline before investing study time. Use the historical categories only as a loose orientation to the subject area, never as a syllabus.

Where the Credential Fits Professionally

The Professional Hydrologist designation signals documented hydrology competence backed by education, years of qualifying experience and peer referees. It is naturally relevant wherever hydrologic analysis is practiced: consulting work, government water agencies, resource management and engineering-adjacent project teams. Because specific salary figures are not verified in the available facts, this article does not quote any; PH Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis discusses earnings qualitatively, and PH Jobs explores role types. To weigh the investment, see Is the PH Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains

Generic study habits matter less than allocating time to the heavy-weight headings. A sensible sequence for the ordinary two-exam path:

Weeks 1-2

Part I: Domain 2 first

  • Quantity and Timing of Flow carries the largest published Part I allocation (about 45 questions)
  • Work flow reasoning problems with your allowed calculator
Week 3

Part I: Domains 1 and 3

  • Field measurement logic, then assessing conditions, impacts and sources
Week 4

Part I: Domain 4 plus consolidation

  • Statistics is small by count but supports analysis in every other heading
  • Assemble your printed reference notes given the unresolved digital-reference question
Weeks 5-8

Part II: weight your specialty

  • Surface Water: spend the most time on Domain 6 (46%)
  • Groundwater: spend the most time on Domain 8 (51%)

Because the exams are open book, the skill is fast retrieval and application, not memorization. Practice finding material in your own notes under time pressure. For fuller planning, see PH Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, PH Training, and the quick-reference PH Cheat Sheet 2026. When you want realistic repetition, try the PH practice tests and review the full question bank. For calibration on challenge level, read How Hard Is the PH Exam?.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does PH mean in this context?

It means Professional Hydrologist, a certification credential issued by the American Institute of Hydrology. It is not a state license and is distinct from the HIT credential. You can find parallel explanations at What Does PH Mean? and What Is A PH?.

How many exams does a Professional Hydrologist candidate take?

On the ordinary documented path, two: Part I Fundamentals and one Part II specialty, each approximately 100 questions and four hours. Valid HIT holders do not repeat Part I.

What score do I need to pass?

The minimum is 70% on each exam. Three failures bar further AIH applications, so prepare thoroughly before each attempt.

How much does the credential cost to start?

The standard calculated initial total is $500: $100 application, $200 Part I and $200 Part II, before annual dues of $175 (prorated in year one). Recertification is $65 every five years. Dollar currency is not explicitly labeled USD in the sources.

Can I use my laptop references during the exam?

Exams are open book with references, notes and calculators, but a reference-computer prohibition sits alongside virtual delivery and is not clearly resolved. Do not assume digital references are allowed; confirm with AIH and prepare printed materials.

Ready to pass your PH exam?

Put this into practice with free PH questions across every exam domain.