- The Short Answer: PH Means Professional Hydrologist
- Who Issues the Credential
- What PH Is Not
- How the PH Examination Is Built
- The Ten Content Headings Explained
- Who Can Apply
- Fees and Ongoing Obligations
- Format, Rules and Open Questions
- Scheduling Your Preparation Around the Domains
- Frequently Asked Questions
- PH here means Professional Hydrologist, a credential selected and administered by the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH).
- The ordinary path is two separate exams: common Part I Fundamentals plus one Part II specialty.
- Surface Water Part II weights are 31%/46%/23%; Groundwater Part II weights are 51%/38%/11%.
- Each exam requires a 70% minimum, and three failures bar further AIH applications.
The Short Answer: PH Means Professional Hydrologist
On this site, PH (also written P.H.) stands for Professional Hydrologist. It is a professional certification for people who practice hydrology: the science of water movement, quantity, timing and quality in the natural and built environment. A PH holder has demonstrated, through education, documented experience, referee support and examination, that they meet a defined standard of hydrologic competence.
If you landed here looking for the meaning of the acronym in another field, this page will not help; everything below concerns the hydrology credential only. For companion explainers, see What Does PH Stand For?, What Is PH Certification? and PH Meaning.
Who Issues the Credential
The Professional Hydrologist credential comes from the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH). AIH runs the application process, sets the eligibility rules in its bylaws, develops and administers the examinations, and manages recertification. Applications run through the Certemy platform, and AIH administers its own virtual proctoring; no outside commercial testing vendor is verified.
What PH Is Not
Because the abbreviation is shared with other unrelated credentials and terms, it helps to be precise about boundaries:
- Not a license. It is a certification issued by a professional institute.
- Not the HIT. The Hydrologist in Training (HIT), or Hydrologic Technician credential, is a separate AIH credential. HIT holders in good standing do not repeat Part I when pursuing the PH, but the two are different designations.
- Not a single-subject exam. The PH combines a common fundamentals exam with a specialty exam.
For a plain-language overview of who typically holds the designation and where they work, read What Is A PH? and PH Jobs.
How the PH Examination Is Built
The ordinary documented path has two components:
- Part I: Fundamentals, common to all candidates (waived for valid HIT holders).
- Part II: one applicable specialty, chosen from the specialty options AIH recognizes.
AIH's published specifications describe each part as approximately 100 questions over four hours, so the ordinary path totals roughly 200 questions and eight hours across two separate exams, not one sitting. Part I is explicitly multiple choice, and practice and development materials also use multiple choice. The scored/unscored split and an overall PH pass rate are not disclosed, so be skeptical of any site quoting a precise pass rate; our PH pass rate analysis explains what the available data can and cannot show.
| Component | Scope | Approx. Size |
|---|---|---|
| Part I: Fundamentals | Common to all candidates; four content headings | About 100 questions, four hours |
| Part II: Surface Water | Three headings weighted 31%/46%/23% | About 100 questions, four hours |
| Part II: Groundwater | Three headings weighted 51%/38%/11% | About 100 questions, four hours |
| Part II: Water Quality | Recognized in AIH requirements; current outline not verified | Not stated |
The Ten Content Headings Explained
You will often see the PH described as having "ten domains." That is a counting convention, not ten topics in a single exam. The ten headings are the supported headings across the Fundamentals component and the two specialty alternatives. A candidate sits Part I plus one specialty, so never add the percentages across alternatives; each specialty's weights total 100% on their own. For the full breakdown, see PH Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.
Part I: Fundamentals (headings 1-4)
AIH publishes approximate question allocations of 20/45/30/5 for these four headings. These are approximate question counts, not printed percentages.
Domain 1: Water Quantity and Quality in the Field
Field-level understanding of how water is measured, sampled and observed.
- Practical measurement and observation concepts
- Linking field conditions to both quantity and quality questions
Domain 2: Quantity and Timing of Flow
The largest of the Fundamentals allocations at roughly 45 questions. Expect questions about how much water moves and when.
- Flow magnitude and timing concepts
- Hydrologic processes that shape runoff and discharge
Domain 3: Assessing Water Quality Conditions, Impacts and Sources
Roughly 30 questions on evaluating water quality status, its impacts and where degradation originates.
- Condition assessment
- Impact and source identification
Domain 4: Statistical Analyses
The smallest allocation at roughly 5 questions, but statistical fluency supports interpretation across the whole exam.
- Statistical treatment of hydrologic data
Part II: Surface Water (headings 5-7)
Domain 5: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (31%)
Gathering and cataloging the basic data that downstream analysis depends on.
Domain 6: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (46%)
The largest Surface Water category. Candidates should expect the heaviest emphasis on analyzing data and modeling processes.
Domain 7: Design Hydrological Systems (23%)
Applying hydrologic understanding to the design of systems.
Part II: Groundwater (headings 8-10)
Domain 8: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (51%)
The largest Groundwater category. Heading names repeat across the two specialties, but the weights and subject matter differ, so study for the specialty you actually chose.
Domain 9: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (38%)
Analysis and modeling applied to groundwater systems.
Domain 10: Design Hydrological Systems (11%)
The smallest Groundwater category, covering design applications.
Remember also that these headings are examination objectives, not a preparation curriculum. They tell you what is tested, not how to learn it. Our PH Study Guide and PH Training pages discuss preparation approaches.
Who Can Apply
Eligibility is governed by the AIH bylaws approved January 30, 2026 (Sections 3.2 and 3.4). Where the older 2024 bylaws are still linked, the 2026 document controls. Key requirements:
- Education and experience: a relevant bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree, paired with five, four or three years respectively of qualifying post-degree hydrology experience.
- Referees: three.
- Foundation coursework: five semester (or eight quarter) hours each in chemistry, physics and calculus.
- Hydrology coursework: three semester (or five quarter) hours in basic surface-water or groundwater hydrology.
- Specialty coursework: 25 semester (or 40 quarter) hours, including at least 10 semester (16 quarter) Category I hours, with the remainder Category I or II.
AIH's Approved Coursework List (updated September 14, 2026) provides examples of qualifying courses. Treat it as an eligibility reference, not as a map of exam domains. No waiver thresholds are verified, so do not assume that experience or credentials will excuse a coursework gap. Details are in PH Requirements 2026.
Fees and Ongoing Obligations
Standard published fees are:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | $100 |
| Part I exam | $200 |
| Part II exam | $200 |
| Calculated initial total (application plus two exams) | $500, before dues |
| Annual PH dues | $175, prorated in the first year |
| Five-year recertification | $65 |
The $500 figure is a calculation from the published components, and AIH does not explicitly label the currency as USD. No general member versus non-member exam fee pair is published, and any organizational-affiliate discounts are conditional. A separate September-December 2026 offer for qualified students and early-career candidates waives upfront application and exam fees for Fundamentals, with $150 payable only after passing and accepting the HIT credential. That offer is not a free PH and does not discount Part II. See PH Certification Cost 2026 for the full picture, and Is the PH Certification Worth It? and the PH Salary Guide for return-on-investment context.
Continuing development
Recertification occurs every five years, and annual dues continue in the meantime. On continuing development, AIH's own pages are not fully aligned: the requirements page calls for at least 12 PDH/PDC annually with documentation each December 31, while the continuing-education guidance describes 60 over five years with submission by December 31 of year five. Do not treat the five-year guidance as a waiver of the annual requirement; confirm with AIH which administration applies to you.
Format, Rules and Open Questions
Passing requires a minimum of 70% on each exam. According to the AIH examinations page, three failures bar further AIH applications, so treat each attempt seriously rather than as a trial run. See PH Passing Score 2026 for details.
- Language: English.
- Delivery: AIH-administered virtual proctoring.
- References: open book, references, notes and calculators are described as permitted.
- Unresolved point: a prohibition on reference computers sits awkwardly beside virtual delivery. Do not assume digital references are allowed; confirm directly with AIH.
- Timing discrepancy: the four-hour Fundamentals specification conflicts with the December 11, 2026 event listing of 9 a.m. to noon. Verify the actual seat time for your sitting.
Also note that the 300-question specialty banks mentioned in AIH development materials are inventories, not exam lengths, and the four-choice description there does not establish an invariant current format. For dates and windows, use PH Exam Dates 2026 and the AIH examinations page.
Key Takeaway
Because the open-book policy, timing and Water Quality specialty details contain unresolved points in AIH's published materials, email or check with AIH before test day rather than relying on a third-party summary, including this one.
Scheduling Your Preparation Around the Domains
The only planning advice worth giving ties directly to the weights. Fundamentals is built mostly around flow quantity and timing (Domain 2) and water quality assessment (Domain 3), so those deserve the most hours. Statistical Analyses is the smallest allocation, yet it underpins interpretation everywhere, so give it a steady early block rather than leaving it for last. For Part II, mirror the weights: Surface Water candidates should spend the most time on Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling (46%), while Groundwater candidates should front-load Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (51%).
Statistics and Flow Timing
- Build statistical fluency first, since it supports every later analysis
- Work flow quantity and timing problems (Domain 2)
Quality Assessment and Field Context
- Cover Domains 1 and 3 together, linking field observation to source and impact assessment
Your Chosen Specialty
- Surface Water: prioritize Domain 6, then 5 and 7
- Groundwater: prioritize Domain 8, then 9, then 10
When you are ready to test your recall, the PH practice test offers question practice, and the PH Cheat Sheet condenses the facts above. To judge your readiness honestly, read How Hard Is the PH Exam?, then return to the main practice site to work through timed sets.
Frequently Asked Questions
PH means Professional Hydrologist, a certification issued by the American Institute of Hydrology. It is explained further at What Does PH Mean? and What Is PH?.
No. It is a professional certification from AIH, not a state-issued license. How it is recognized depends on your employer, clients and jurisdiction.
On the ordinary documented path, two separate exams: Part I Fundamentals and one Part II specialty. Valid HIT holders do not repeat Part I.
A 70% minimum on each exam. Per the AIH examinations page, three failures bar further AIH applications.
The published standard fees are $100 for the application and $200 for each of the two exams, a calculated $500 before the $175 annual dues, which are prorated in the first year. Recertification every five years costs $65.