- What "Passing" Means for the Professional Hydrologist Exams
- The 70% Minimum, Exam by Exam
- Two Separate Exams, Two Separate Results
- What AIH Does Not Publish
- Where Your Points Come From: Domain Weights
- Format, Length and Open-Book Rules
- The Three-Failure Rule
- Fees and the Cost of a Retake Mindset
- Building a Plan Around the 70% Line
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The American Institute of Hydrology sets the passing minimum at 70% on each exam, scored separately.
- The ordinary path is Part I Fundamentals plus one Part II specialty; each is its own pass or fail.
- Three failures bar further AIH applications, according to the AIH examinations page.
- AIH does not publish an overall PH pass rate or a scored/unscored question split.
What "Passing" Means for the Professional Hydrologist Exams
If you are searching for the Professional Hydrologist passing score, the answer is refreshingly concrete compared with many credentials: the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH) states a 70% minimum per exam. There is no published scaled-score range, no cut-score conversion table, and no public explanation of how individual questions are weighted. What you can plan around is the 70% line, applied separately to each examination you sit.
This article is about the Professional Hydrologist (PH/P.H.) credential from AIH specifically. It is not a state license, and it is not the Hydrologic Technician (HIT) credential, although HIT and PH share the Fundamentals exam. If you are still orienting yourself, start with What Is PH? or What Is PH Certification? before returning here for the scoring details.
The 70% Minimum, Exam by Exam
The examination page published by AIH describes the passing minimum as 70% on each exam. In practical terms, with approximately 100 questions per part, that means you should aim to answer roughly 70 correctly on a given exam. Treat that as an orientation figure rather than a guarantee, for two reasons:
- The published length of each part is described as "approximately" 100 questions in the introductory material, while the Part II detail says 100. Do not assume the count is identical every sitting.
- AIH does not disclose whether some questions are unscored. If any items are unscored, the arithmetic of "70 out of 100" would not map cleanly onto what you see on screen.
Two Separate Exams, Two Separate Results
The ordinary documented path to PH uses two exams, and each is judged on its own:
| Component | Scope | Published size | Passing minimum |
|---|---|---|---|
| Part I: Fundamentals | Common to all candidates; four Part I domains | Approximately 100 questions, four hours | 70% |
| Part II: Surface Water | Three Surface Water domains | 100 questions in the Part II detail, four hours | 70% |
| Part II: Groundwater | Three Groundwater domains | 100 questions in the Part II detail, four hours | 70% |
Choose one Part II specialty, not both. The combined total on the ordinary path is approximately 200 questions and eight hours of testing, but across two separate exams, not one sitting. A strong Part II result cannot rescue a weak Part I result, and the reverse is equally true. Valid HIT holders do not repeat Part I, so for them the passing question narrows to the Part II exam alone.
A note on Water Quality: AIH's current requirements and bylaws recognize it as a specialty, but a current standalone Water Quality exam outline, timer or weighting was not verified. Rather than guess at a passing structure for that route, confirm the current details directly with AIH. For how the 70% rule connects to the broader candidate journey, see PH Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What AIH Does Not Publish
Candidates often want a number that does not exist. Be realistic about what is and is not available:
- Overall pass rate: undisclosed. Any figure you see quoted without an AIH source should be treated with suspicion. Our PH Pass Rate 2026 article walks through what can and cannot be said.
- Scored versus unscored questions: undisclosed.
- Scaled scoring or per-domain minimums: not described. The only stated threshold is 70% per exam.
- Dated blueprint revision: the AIH examinations page does not show a dated blueprint revision, so use the current examinations page as the reference for objectives.
That absence of detail is itself useful. It tells you to prepare broadly across every domain rather than trying to game a hidden scoring formula. For a sense of how the lack of published statistics shapes difficulty, read How Hard Is the PH Exam?
Where Your Points Come From: Domain Weights
Since the pass line is a single 70% figure, the question becomes where the points are concentrated. The published allocations differ by exam, and each exam's weights are independent. Never add them across alternatives.
Part I: Fundamentals (approximate question counts)
The Part I headings carry published allocations of 20/45/30/5. These are approximate question counts rather than printed percentages, but because the exam is about 100 questions, they behave much like percentages in practice.
Domain 1: Water Quantity and Quality in the Field
Approximately 20 questions. Field-oriented fundamentals that underpin both measurement and sampling thinking.
Domain 2: Quantity and Timing of Flow
Approximately 45 questions, the largest block of Part I. Flow magnitude and timing is where a Fundamentals result is most often won or lost, so weak spots here are expensive.
Domain 3: Assessing Water Quality Conditions, Impacts and Sources
Approximately 30 questions. Substantial enough that skipping water quality because you plan a quantity specialty is risky.
Domain 4: Statistical Analyses
Approximately 5 questions. Small by count, but statistics also supports reasoning in other domains, so do not ignore it entirely.
Part II: Surface Water (31% / 46% / 23%)
- Domain 5: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (31%)
- Domain 6: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (46%)
- Domain 7: Design Hydrological Systems (23%)
Part II: Groundwater (51% / 38% / 11%)
- Domain 8: Collection and Inventory of Basic Hydrological Data (51%)
- Domain 9: Interpretation, Analysis & Modeling of Hydrological Processes (38%)
- Domain 10: Design Hydrological Systems (11%)
The concentration is striking. In Surface Water, nearly half the exam is interpretation, analysis and modeling. In Groundwater, just over half is collection and inventory of basic data. If you must hit 70%, the heaviest category in your chosen specialty has to be a strength, because even excellent performance in the smallest category cannot offset a collapse in the largest. For Groundwater, Design is only 11%, so a thin Design preparation is a smaller risk than a thin collection and inventory preparation.
Format, Length and Open-Book Rules
Part I is explicitly multiple choice, and the practice and development materials AIH publishes also use multiple-choice items. The exam is in English and open book: references, notes and calculators are permitted. That does not make it easy. Open-book exams of approximately 100 questions in four hours reward candidates who know where to find a formula and, more importantly, when to apply it, rather than candidates who plan to look everything up.
A few operational wrinkles are worth knowing because they affect how you prepare:
- Delivery: AIH administers virtual proctoring. No commercial testing vendor is verified, and the application platform is Certemy.
- Reference computers: the rule against reference computers versus virtual delivery remains operationally unresolved in the published materials. Do not assume digital references are allowed. Prepare printed or handwritten references and confirm the rule with AIH before test day.
- Timing discrepancy: the four-hour Fundamentals specification conflicts with a December 11, 2026 event listing of 9 a.m. to noon. Verify the actual time allowance for your sitting rather than relying on either number.
The "development" language you may see on AIH pages matters too: a page about examination-development work mentions 300-question specialty banks. Those are development inventories, not exam lengths, and the four-choice, one-correct-answer description does not by itself establish an unchanging current exam format.
The Three-Failure Rule
According to the AIH examinations page, three failures bar further AIH applications. This is the most consequential policy attached to the passing score, and it changes how you should approach your first attempt. It is not a standard "retake whenever" scenario; the number of tries is limited.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat the first attempt as a diagnostic. Because three failures bar further applications, sit each exam only when your realistic practice scores sit clearly above 70%, not merely at it. Confirm how failures are counted (per exam or cumulatively) directly with AIH before you schedule.
The published page does not spell out every nuance of how failures accumulate across Part I and Part II, so ask rather than assume. For scheduling context, see PH Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Fees and the Cost of a Retake Mindset
The standard fee structure published by AIH is $100 for the application, $200 for Part I and $200 for Part II. The calculated initial total for application plus two exams is $500, before dues. The currency is not explicitly labeled USD in the source, so treat the dollar figures as published. Annual PH dues are $175, prorated in the first year, and five-year recertification is $65.
There is a conditional offer worth knowing about: the September through December 2026 qualified student and early-career Fundamentals offer waives the upfront application and exam fees, with $150 payable only after passing and accepting HIT. That is a HIT-oriented offer, not free PH certification and not a Part II discount. No general member versus non-member exam-fee pair is published, and organizational-affiliate discounts are conditional.
Whatever route you take, the lesson for scoring is the same: a failed attempt costs money and consumes one of a limited number of tries. Full pricing is in PH Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and the return-on-investment question is covered in Is the PH Certification Worth It?
Building a Plan Around the 70% Line
Generic study habits matter less than aiming your time at the structure of these specific exams. The timeline below allocates effort according to the published weights, assuming Surface Water as the specialty. Swap the emphasis if you choose Groundwater.
Part I: Flow quantity and timing
- Domain 2 carries approximately 45 questions, so start here.
- Work flow-timing problems with a calculator and your own reference sheet.
Part I: Field work and water quality
- Cover Domain 1 (approximately 20) and Domain 3 (approximately 30).
- Add the small statistics block (Domain 4) as a quick review.
Part II: Interpretation, analysis and modeling
- Domain 6 is 46% of Surface Water; give it the most hours.
- Practice reading a scenario and choosing the right analytical approach.
Part II: Data collection and design
- Domain 5 (31%) and Domain 7 (23%).
- Finish with timed mixed sets to confirm scores clear 70% with room to spare.
If you choose Groundwater, reverse the emphasis: collection and inventory of basic hydrological data (51%) deserves the largest share, then interpretation, analysis and modeling (38%), with Design (11%) last. Note that the Part II exams are separate, so you can schedule Part II study after Part I results rather than cramming both at once. A fuller preparation walkthrough is in PH Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and a condensed review sheet is in PH Cheat Sheet 2026.
Remember also that the objectives are exam objectives, not a preparation curriculum. The Approved Coursework List (updated September 14, 2026) supports eligibility, not exam content, so do not treat coursework categories as a map of what will be tested. For realistic practice against the stated domains, you can try the questions on the main practice test site, and the PH Exam Prep practice tests let you check whether your scores hold above 70% before you commit to a sitting.
If your goal is eventually working as a hydrologist, it also helps to see how the credential connects to employment; PH Jobs and the PH Salary Guide 2026 cover that side without relying on the passing score alone.
Frequently Asked Questions
AIH states a passing minimum of 70% on each exam. Part I Fundamentals and the Part II specialty exam are scored separately, and you must reach 70% on each to complete the ordinary path.
No. The 70% minimum applies per exam. A high result on one exam does not offset a result below 70% on the other, so prepare to clear the line on each.
With approximately 100 questions per part, 70% corresponds to roughly 70 correct. However, AIH does not disclose whether some items are unscored, so aim to score comfortably above 70% in practice rather than targeting an exact count.
According to the AIH examinations page, three failures bar further AIH applications. Because the number of attempts is limited, confirm with AIH how failures are counted before scheduling, and sit each exam only when your practice scores are consistently above 70%.
No. The overall pass rate and the scored versus unscored question split are undisclosed. Be cautious about any pass-rate statistic that does not cite an AIH source, and see our PH pass rate article for context.
The passing score itself is simple: 70% on each exam. The difficulty lies in preparing across the right domains, weighting your effort toward the largest categories in your chosen specialty, and treating a limited number of attempts with respect. Verify current details on the AIH examinations page before you register, since schedules and operational rules can change.